Simple Wisedom Of Old Rock

Cover 1973

–I post this tonight with my daughter’s boyfriend in mind.  He is a 16 year old young man who lost his only sibling, his older brother, to cancer 3 years ago.  Still struggling with this huge loss, he faced last week the death of a friend who was an adult mentor, who passed untimely at 56 yrs old.–

 

Mama told me when I was young

“Come sit bedside me my only son

And listen closely to what I say

And if you do this

It will help you some sunny day.

Take your time…don’t live too fast,

Troubles will come and they will pass.

Go find a woman and you’ll find love,

And don’t forget son,

There is someone up above.”

**********

More of the Dusty Box collection.  Very impressionable music during my formative years.  Considering the tragic demise of this iconic band, the lyrics were those of a simple man – and why I marinated myself in their music.

Can you name that song?  1973 written by Gart Rossington & Ronnie Van Zant

* Double Dog Dare to other Skynyrd peeps: Add more of the lines to the song or name other songs on this album.  (Ahh, try not to cheat and google – )

The pics are from my album sitting with all the others.

Lynyrd Skynyrd 1973

About theblogwoman

Faker Of Much And Easily Distracted - Yes, Those 2 Are With Me
This entry was posted in Dusty Box, Family, memories, Music, That Hurt, The Occassional Quickie and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Simple Wisedom Of Old Rock

  1. Willowwisp says:

    It’s funny how music takes us many places… the same song can take you back to a younger time just as it can stir up something new. Music. International language.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. markbialczak says:

    ‘Simple Man,’ my friend. Lynyrd Skynyrd shared some beautiful thoughts amid that powerful southern rock of our youth. ‘Tuesday’s Gone’ with the wind, indeed. My baby’s gone, with the wind. One of my guys from The Outlaws — ‘Green Grass and High Tides,’ remember that smoker? — Hughie Thomasson, joined Skynyrd in a later incarnation, and then Hughie left us too early, too. RIP all you Skynyrds.

    Hold your chin up, young man. Others in life will support you from near and far. Thanks for this post today to give us the opportunity, TBL.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Good morning.

    Music is the transport that is always there to move me. Sometimes we just have to switch rides. Unfortunately, it often ends up generational.

    Good night.

    Like

Leave a Reply

